The beautiful soul of South Africa!

4th creche crincipal interview. It was wonderful. I learned all about a Xhosa tradition that takes place when a baby is born. They slaughter a goat in the baby's honour and introduce the baby to the ancestors!

4th creche crincipal interview. It was wonderful. I learned all about a Xhosa tradition that takes place when a baby is born. They slaughter a goat in the baby's honour and introduce the baby to the ancestors!

Me and Shiela. Shiela helped me translate my interview in Xhosa!

Me and Shiela. Shiela helped me translate my interview in Xhosa!

Playing!

Playing!

These girls were extra curious what we were doing. Some of the SAEP staff were measuring a newly constructed shack that will soon become a new part of a creche that needs serious repair.

These girls were extra curious what we were doing. Some of the SAEP staff were measuring a newly constructed shack that will soon become a new part of a creche that needs serious repair.

Andanna from Yale and a sweet pea from Kiddies creche!

Andanna from Yale and a sweet pea from Kiddies creche!

Principal Margaret from Kiddies creche. She's awesome! High energy!

Principal Margaret from Kiddies creche. She's awesome! Very sweet and high energy!

I can't stop smiling in South Africa!

I can't stop smiling in South Africa!

Shiela striking a pose! Work it Xhosa Queen!

Shiela striking a pose! Work it Xhosa Queen!

Philippi.

Philippi.

Brave men on the top of fruit or veggies flying down the highway!

Brave men on the top of fruit or veggies flying down the highway!

I used to feel funny pulling out my camera in Philippi, but the kids have a ball with it so I have millions of photos now!

I used to feel funny pulling out my camera in Philippi, but the kids have a ball with it so I have millions of photos now!

Xhosa Queens discussing the fate of the community's children! Working to build an extension onto an existing creche.

Xhosa Queens discussing the fate of the community's children! Working to build an extension onto an existing creche.

~ by spirittrickey on June 11, 2009.

5 Responses to “The beautiful soul of South Africa!”

  1. Great photos!!!!

    Like

  2. hi spirit

    cant wait to get there! miss u love u!

    Like

  3. Great photos Spirit! Wish I could be there to experience some of the rich culture with you! I know you are pouring back in to them just as you recieve from them. You have a lot to offer! Continue to enjoy this learning and connecting experience.

    Like

  4. Thankyou Dr.Whitfield,We are in the process of forming a mission support team, Would love for you to join us .First meeting to be held Tuesday evening June 23rd at 7pm. #74 Zircon drive in Maumelle home of Sis. Maggie and bro. Charles Richards hope to see you there. God Bless you.

    Like

  5. Hello my dear,

    In van with the sisters, just left the To brothers. missing you.

    Jean

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
